About a week ago I was in Norway siting in a van bored out of my mind. Not only was I mildly depressed because my trip to see my boyfriend was quickly coming to an end, but also on top of that there was no wifi. So I sat in the van until I told my boyfriend that I would re-read a book I had already read twice in two months. He (rightfully) told me I was being ridiculous and I should write something instead.
Immediately I remembered these pictures on my computer when I was young and Windows 7 was still impressive, and I remember how frustrated I was because these pictures inspired something literary in me, but I wasn’t good enough at writing to capture how they made me feel, and I wasn’t skilled enough to write the background that I felt these pictures deserved. So I put them in the back of my mind for grown-up me to contend with. And now that I am a grown-up, I am contending with them.

Pure Happiness

“No you idiot!” Shouted the evil supervillain. “I said I want minions to desiccate with, not celebrate with!”
His voice boomed darkly through the cavern and he shook with white hot rage, but it was too late.
The minions bounced with unrestrained glee, mouths wide open in overjoyed smiles, showing teeth that somehow also managed to look uncontrollably happy.
“What am I supposed to do with these?” The villain glared at his shaking intern, “Tell me these are secret weapons. Tell me they have claws or that their teeth are razor sharp or something!”
The intern wrung his hands together and stared fixedly at the floor. “They’re programmed with one objective and one objective only sir,” he whispered.
“And what is that?” The villain whispered back.
“To party.”
The villain crumpled his hands into fists and sighed deeply. Through his black mask he looked at the minions. They were white, shiny, and tiny chubby creations who bounced happily off the floor, the walls, and even each other.
There were so many of them, and they were all so beautiful in their small, indescribably happy way. One of them crashed against the glass and looked at the villain with large rectangular green eyes and gave him a giant smile.
Unbeknownst to his intern, the corners of the villain’s mouth turned upward and as another minion smiled at him, he considered painting his mask white.

