Dear Dan:

I woke up this morning to my boyfriend telling me that we had gotten an email reply from your unit. This made me tremendously excited, until he said he didn’t know what to make of it, then I felt ill.

I had emailed you saying that I was going to be visiting my boyfriend in Sweden this summer. I said that we had already purchased the flight tickets, that I could send you a screenshot of my flight path if you desired it, and that I was willing to cooperate with your requests in any way that I could. Your email said that my application doesn’t have a case officer yet, that everyone is working as hard as they can to make quick decisions, and that waiting times are long, and that you’re sorry about that. All of that is standard for an email from the migration agency, regardless of what unit it comes from. But then you said that if I was in Sweden while my application was being processed, it would be in the queue for further processing.

I’m not sure what that means. But I know it’s not good.

The thing is, Dan, what do you want me to do? I’m not angry, I’m only mildly frustrated… I’m more amused than anything else. You have to understand, I haven’t seen my love in over 9 months. That’s over nine months that I haven’t held his hand, or gone on a walk with him, or been close to him. I miss him. Not just that, but the fact that we haven’t seen each other for so long also reflects badly on our relationship. Such a gap between visits could give your investigators reason to believe that our relationship is not as serious as we say it is. Now I understand that logic, I support it even. It makes sense, so I’m not complaining, I’m just asking, legitimately asking, what do you want me to do?

What are my other options? You say that if I go visit him in Sweden, our case will suffer, but it’s not like we have a choice, since if I don’t visit, it will also suffer! And he can’t travel to Mexico either. Not only is it dangerously hot here in this desert, but it’s unsafe, and even if I lived in the most paradisaical part of Mexico, he has to work. He has to work in order to pay for our new apartment, which he is required by law to have if we need to apply again. So I ask, again, what am I supposed to do?

I have waited. For nine months, waited. Like a good, patient little waiting girl. The migration agency’s statistics said I would need to wait maximum 14 months for a decision. It’s nearing 15. The statistics now say it’s actually between 14 and seventeen months, Think about what you’re telling me. Not just me, actually, but all of us who have working significant others living abroad. “You either stay apart for roughly over a year, or there will be consequences. But! You are also required to see each other during that time or else there will be consequences.”

Now Dan, I know this isn’t your fault. I think that if it were up to you, you’d probably change this system, and design something with a little more empathy. I think so because I’ve had the privilege of having you reply to my emails before. You’ve always been kind (unlike other employees) and now you warned me about this queue for further processing purely out of the goodness of your heart, since the migration agency doesn’t require you to warn applicants of anything. (Which is kind of cruel, I might add.) Even though I was already aware of the risks involved, I thank you. I actually like you. I appreciate it, and I appreciate you, and everything you do. That being said, I’m a bit baffled over this, because what other choice do I have?

Med vänlig hälsning

